Cover Comparison + Cursed Child Updates

I absolutely love looking at book covers, and despite the saying ‘Don’t judge a book by its cover’, I’m pretty sure I’ve judged many books by its cover. Today I’m going to compare the first edition covers of some books, with other editions – it could be an international cover, a different edition, or even a fan made cover. These are just some of my absolute favourites!


Cress by Marissa Meyer

So one of the covers as you can see is the original cover for Cress, the third book in The Lunar Chronicles series. I really like this cover, it’s really pretty and totally relevant to the story too, what with the long-haired Rapunzel figure sitting on the floor. But then you see the French edition. Idk why but ever since I first saw that cover I have been obsessed with it. It’s so, so, so pretty!! It’s way more eye catching than the original. It has an amazing galaxy in the back (I love galaxies) and Cress herself seems so much more amazing, you know? It’s just soooo beautiful! I want the French edition…*fangirls* 🙂


Winter by Marissa Meyer

Okay, seeing as we spoke about Cress in the previous paragraph, obviously I had to mention another one of my favourites in Marissa Meyer’s books – Winter. Winter is the last book, and the original cover is also stunning, but look at the Vietnamese cover!!! Okay, you may say they look super similar, but the Vietnamese one is soooo much nicer! And you can even see a reflection of a girl in the apple, although I’m not sure who that girl is as she certainly isn’t Winter. It’s just so nice and sparkly, and blue and aahhhh! I also love the font much better than the original font – the Vietnamese covers for all the TLC books use this font and personally I think it’s way more attractive.


Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Okay so I’m not sure if the original cover is the original original cover as I’m pretty sure there is another one, but this is the one I have so let’s just stick with it. I really don’t like it, the original. Who’s that girl at the top listening to music? Because it isn’t Eleanor, for sure. She’s way too skinny to be Eleanor – and the whole point of Eleanor is that she isn’t a stereotypical skinny girl!!! Ugh. Annoying. I like this other cover though (credits to the unnamed source – it’s amazing). It looks way more attractive and even fits the book better. I’m guessing the Converses are Park, coz Eleanor wears Vans, and that crazy mop of hair at the top is Eleanor. See – it fits.


City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Okay, last but not least, let’s take a look at the City of Bones original edition and the German edition. If I’m honest, I like both of them the same. But they seriously messed up the rest of the English editions – I mean the one you see above the first edition (I think?) is perfectly fine. Then you see the newer covers, the ones with the massive font and ugly colours. Ah I hate I!

the-mortal-instrument-redesign

Just no.

 But back to the German cover, I really like it! It gives the sense that the book is this intriguing fantasy with all these magical creatures. It looks awesome, although I’m not too sure about those birds – what even are they?


Cursed Child Updates

So if you saw my review on Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children yesterday, you would’ve seen the pictures released of the Potter family, i.e Harry, Ginny and Albus Severus Potter. It was awesome. Well, today Pottermore has released the images of the Granger-Weasley family (yes they combined names!!), including Ron (Paul Thornley), Hermione (Noma Dumezwini) and Rose (Cherelle Skeete).

How awesome does it look!!! It’s perfect, I’m sooo excited about the play, even though I haven’t even got any tickets (*whispers furiously in hope it will make everything true* You will get tickets, Vibha, you will.) I’m fangirling so hard, it’s perfecttttt.

I honestly don’t see what all the fuss is about Noma Dumezwini being Hermione, because in my opinion she’s perfect for the role! It’s a nice change, and it doesn’t matter that she looks nothing like Emma Watson!

The third and final release of photos will be out tomorrow, and it will show two more wizarding characters of importance to the story. I’m hoping it will be the Malfoy family – because then maybe they may drop a hint that Scorose might become canon…*fingers crossed*.

Oh, and if you read our blog on the website, rather than on WP Reader, you would’ve seen that our little Cursed Child countdown widget says exactly 60 days – 2 months – until the 31st July!!! We’re getting ever closer to the big day!


Hope you enjoyed this post! I may do another cover comparison, only a negative one, with bad covers, coz why not :). However, I’ve made many such promises in the past, saying that ‘I’ll do another such post very shortly’ and then never done it, so I wouldn’t get your hopes up too high…speaking of which I should probably write all those posts I promised in the past, shouldn’t I? Whoops.

Another note – we won’t be doing the Monthly Wrap Up, TBR or Anticipated Reads this June, as it is a meme all three of us like to do together, and right now Lynette is quite busy, so we’ll miss it out for this month. Also we’ve been tagged for a whole bunch of tags and awards, so we’ll post them as well when Lynette’s back. 🙂

Anyways, tell me what you think of those covers. Are they nicer than the original? Do you have your own personal favourites? And also what do you think about the Cursed Child cast?

-V

Leave a comment