Thursday Tracks 26/5/16 #4

YAS!!!!! Exams are over, and I now have 10 days off school! I’m gonna enjoy each and every one of them!

So, now exams are over I’ll be back to posting! This week’s Thursday Tracks is going to be slightly special, as Vibha asked if she could join in. She is going to talk about some new bands she’s become obsessed with (and when I say obsessed, I mean OBSESSED. She has been spamming us with lyrics and making us listen to her favourite word of her favourite song again and again and again until we get headaches). But first, I’ll put some songs on!


Mia’s Music

Okay, so, I’ll start with a singer of the week. I’d like to do 5sos a) because I’m now a fan and b) because they’ve got me through exam week or Taylor Swift for getting me through exam week, but I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned them already so they can be my runners up.

(Just gonna say- I have never wanted to be a microphone as much as I do when I look at these pictures)

image

(Also, I haven’t had an opportunity before now to say that Taylor’s new hair makes me sad. I liked her old hair. And 5sos are changing their look too- Luke lost his lip ring and isn’t getting it replaced (noooooooo) and has gotten rid of his quiff (noooooooo again), Calum’s got rid of his highlights, ASH’S BANDANA IS GONE (disaster) and Michael’s no longer dying his hair. SO SAD.)

My singer of the week is going to be Meghan Trainor. For a start, she made an appearance in my maths exam along with Zayn Malik, Andy Murray, Simon Cowell, Justin Bieber and a few others (don’t ask- it was a strange maths exam). Also, I got my friend into her and now she is obsessed (though not quite as obsessed as Vibha is with her bands). Our Meghan Trainor session get quite intense.

image

And on the topic of my friend, can I just say that I am the champion on Taylor Swift songs? No matter who won the game we played, I am the true Swiftie. I’m gonna use this as a warning to any fake fans out there- if you try and do the “I’m such a huge swiftie” thing on me, it ain’t gonna work. I can tell a true Swiftie from a fake fan, and trust me, you don’t want to be on the receiving end of my fake fan anger. Warning over.

Now, for song of the week, I’m gonna choose Hair by Little Mix feat. Sean Paul. I rediscovered this song a few days ago and can’t stop listening to it over and over and over and over and over (you get the idea) again. It’s awesome.

And yeah, that’s all from me for this week, hope you enjoyed it, over to Vibha!


Vibha’s Music

I’m so excited to do this Thursday Tracks! It’s my first one, and my second last one as well probably (Mia wants me to do it next week as well), so this is super cool! Like Mia said, over the past couple of weeks we’ve been away, revising for exams, I (with the help of a friend) discovered three new bands which I have completely fallen in love with – the Emo Trinity. So you may have noticed from above that Mia’s music taste is quite pop-y, but to be honest I hate pop music. Therefore when I discovered the Emo Trinity – i.e Panic! At the Disco, Fall Out Boy and My Chemical Romance – I loved it!

image

Now I myself am not emo, no – I just like the music. My Chemical Romance is definitely the best of them in my opinion, although my friends who also listen to these bands definitely think Panic! is the best. I don’t know though, MCR is pretty amazing.

Okay so from what I can tell you have to do a singer, album and song of the week if I’m right?

I’ll start off with the song of the week – and for this I’d have to choose I Write Sins Not Tragedies by Panic! At The Disco. I definitely agree that this is the most overrated of their songs, but that isn’t gonna stop it being my favourite Panic! song :). Panic! At the Disco is a one man band, with Brendon Urie singing and playing all the music. There were other people, but they all left, so it’s just Brendon now.

Now for the album of the week, I’m going to say Folie à Deux by Fall Out Boy. This album is amazing, one of their bests along with American Beauty/American Psycho. There are some pretty awesome songs in there, my favourites being Disloyal Order of Water Buffaloes and 20 Dollar Nose Bleed.

image

And last, but most definitely not least, artist of the week has to be My Chemical Romance. Like I said earlier, MCR is my favourite of the three bands. When Mia said I’ve been spamming her messages with lyrics – she meant MCR lyrics. And when she mentioned my favourite word – it’s Gerard saying the word ‘letter’ in the song Mama. Now I don’t know if any of you have heard this song, but if you have tell me in the comments. It’s so cool the way he pronounces the word! Tell me (and Mia, because she certainly needs some convincing), that I’m not insane.

Back to My Chemical Romance, the main reason why I didn’t put them on song/album of the week is because they are so amazing it’s just impossible to pick a favourite. One minute I’ll say that Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge is my favourite album, next minute I’ll say Danger Days: The True Lives of Fabulous Killjoys is the best. I just cannot choose! But I think you’ve got the idea – My Chemical Romance is amazing – and I know they broke up three years ago before I discovered them, but I’m staying with the idea that they’ll get back together in 2019, year of the Killjoys.

image

Left to right: Bob Bryar (who left the band), Mikey Way, Gerard Way, Frank Iero, Ray Toro


Hope you enjoyed that! It was much longer than the usual Thursday Tracks, but oh well 🙂
Thanks, and do tell us what you think about our favourite music!
-M & V

Leave a Reply

