April 2016 Wrap Up + May TBR

 

Wow, what a month! It went by so quickly, it only seems like yesterday when we first started off this blog! Now, we’ve got quite a few followers, lots of posts, we’ve joined in with memes, and this is our first Wrap Up! We know that lots of people do Wrap Ups differently, some people only include what they read and what they want to read, whereas others share their book hauls. We’re going to put our own twist on this wrap up, so we hope you enjoy it!


What We Read Last Month

Mia: I didn’t get much reading done last month as unfortunately I was quite busy. I’ve read Stone Cold by Robert Swindells, but that was a school book so it doesn’t really count. I read Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare and Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas. I’ve also reread Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and The Infernal Devices. I’m currently reading Mansfield Park by Jane Austen, Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard and Hunger by Michael Grant. Oh, and I’m reading Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer, but as I haven’t touched that for about 3 months I don’t think that counts.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lynette: I haven’t managed to read a whole lot, as I have been  quite busy as well. I’ve read Cinder by Marissa Meyer, All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven, reread Inkspell by Cornelia Funke, reread the Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth, and I’m currently reading Carry On by Rainbow Rowell, The Lie Tree by France’s Hardinge and The Rest Of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. Like my friends, I am also reading Stone Cold by Robert Swindells for school. I got hold of some Black Butler manga in Japan, so I read two books of that as well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Vibha: I read quite a lot this past month, which is great seeing as I’m slowly ploughing through the ginormous mountain that is my TBR. Also, I guess it makes up for May, seeing as I doubt I’ll get much reading time this month. Like Mia and Lynette, I’m also currently reading Stone Cold (for school), but I didn’t really think it counted, so meh.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


What We Plan To Read This Month

Mia: I have thousands of books I want to read, but I’ll just pick a realistic number of them. I have to finish Twilight Eclipse within the week, or my friend who I borrowed it from will kill me. Once I’ve finished that one, I’ll read the fourth book as well. I want to finish Mansfield Park, and read as many classics as I can. I think I’m going to start my copy of Great Expectations…. I also want to finish Red Queen and its sequel Glass Sword, and I desperately want to finish the Throne of Glass series, but that might take a while. I also want to read A Court of Thorns and Roses, another book by Sarah J Maas, and it’s sequel, A Court of Mist and Fury,which is coming out this month, but I’m going to try and finish of the books and series that I’m halfway through first. I also am desperate to read The Trials of Apollo, coming out this month, by Rick Riordan. I doubt I’ll manage all that, but if I do then I’d like to finish Hunger and the rest of the series as well. I’m gonna use this month to try and finish all the series I started.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lynette: I want to finish The Lunar Chronicles and the Throne Of Glass series (I read the first book a couple months back). I also want to finish the current books I am reading right now (Carry On, The Lie Tree and The Rest Of Us Just Live Here). I also want to read some more Black Butler as well. I would like to read more, but I probably won’t have time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Vibha: My April TBR is pretty over ambitious, I doubt I’ll get much reading time, but oh well, it’s worth a try! If I get even halfway through this list, I’ll be more than happy, but for now, take a look at my unrealistic and over ambitious April TBR!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Reviews Posted In The Past Month

1.Red Queen (Red Queen #1) – Book Review

2. Every Day – Book Review

3. Faceless – Book Review

4. Everything, Everything- Book Review

5. The Art of Being Normal – UKYA Book Review


Quote of the Month

Mia: Hmm, a quote of the month is going to be hard, but I think I have to choose something from Lady Midnight, by Cassandra Clare. When Emma Carstairs is dumping Cameron by a phone call, her friend Christina tells her to use her I statements. Emma then says to Cameron:

” “This is about me, not you,” she said into the phone. Christina gave her an encouraging thumbs-up. “I am sick of you.” She smiled brightly as Christina dropped her face into her hands. “

Cassandra Clare, Lady Midnight

This quote is just 👌. If I’m ever dumping someone, I’m gonna use this. This is just one example of Emma’s incredible sass. She could take on Jace Herondale in a sass battle. I wonder who would win……

 

Lynette: I wasn’t really sure what quote I should use,  but in the end I settled for a quote from All The Bright Places.

“You are all the colours in one, at full brightness.”

Jennifer Niven, All The Bright Places

This was a really sweet quote, and I know it’s quite obvious, but I just find a lot of beauty in this quote. It’s really lovely.

 

Vibha: Gosh, I don’t know what quote to use! I think I’d have to pick the quote from Red Queen (a pretty obvious quote to use, but still, I like it).

“I am the King, and you could’ve been mRed Queen. Now, you are nothing.”

Victoria Aveyard, Red Queen

This was one of those drop-the-book-and-stare-at-a-wall quotes. I love it, and yet I hate it.

 


5 Most Popular Posts of the Month

  1. Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Bookworm Delights
  2. Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books Every X Should Read
  3. 10 Facts About Harry Potter #5
  4. TBR Jar
  5. Thoughts On Reading Slumps

What To Expect This Month

We can’t really guarantee much this month, as we have loads of exams, however we’ll try to post when we can. We may have to miss out a couple of our weekly memes here and there, especially during the week of our ‘main’ exams.


Hope you enjoyed our first wrap up! We’d love to hear your comments on what you think, and feel free to drop a link of your wrap ups down below, as we love reading them!

-V, L and M

Leave a Reply

