WIFSY Thursday- 21st April 2016- Essential Maps For The Lost

Hi everyone! It’s WIFSY day again, and so we’re back to see if we can come any closer to the real blurb. WIFSY – When I First Saw You – is a weekly meme hosted by Sailing Through Books, where using just a cover, all three of us have to think of a blurb for the book. You can read our first post here.

The book for this week is Essential Maps For The Lost by Deb Caletti. Here are our synopsises! Hope you enjoy them!

Mia’s Blurb:

Sinking. Down. Down. Down.

Lauren is a normal girl, living in the Scilly Isles. But one day, while on a family boating trip with her and her parents, their family boat capsizes and sinks. Lauren is sure she’s going to drown.

But by some miracle that no one quite understands, Lauren survives. Now an orphan, Lauren is no longer sure about her life and who she’s supposed to be. With a new fear of the ocean, yet inesplicably drawn to it, Lauren must journey to discover her past, and shape her future.

A heartwarming YA book about discovering ones inner self, Essential Maps for the Lost is a must-read for all.

Vibha’s blurb:

Emma has always loved the ocean. The smell of the salty air, the cool touch of the water, the beautiful colours. The amazing wildlife below, the coral, the sand…and the darkness. The darkness intrigued Emma. It always had. She’d never understood why nobody swam down to the bottom of the sea. But nearly her whole life’s worth of research on the darkness down below meant that Emma had noticed something no other person had ever spotted before. Emma had noticed something shocking, something strange…something fishy (I’m sorry I had to do that, ok! Don’t kill me πŸ˜‚).


On her 18th birthday Emma forges a fake suicide note to her friends and family, and driving to the beach, Emma does something nobody has EVER done before.


A gripping story of love, loss and fantasy, Essential Maps For The Lost is a must-read for everyone.

Lynette’s blurb:

Carrie’s elder brother went missing a whole year ago and everyone assumed he was dead. But Carrie is certain that he has gone out to travel the oceans, as that had always been his secret dream. So when an adventurous sailor comes by for a stop and befriends Carrie, she knows she must join him when he sets off again. She wants to see the real oceans for herself, and perhaps find her brother. 

After she sets off without her parents’ permission and ventures into the ocean, she realises that the sea is far more dangerous than she could have ever predicted, and she also realises that she is far more lost than her brother had ever been.
This is a touching adventure book which also includes the love between siblings, and that some dreams may not be what they first seem to be like. Essential Maps for the Lost is definitely recommended for anyone to read.


The real blurb:

Sometimes people want to be lost. Madisonβ€”Mads to everyone who knows herβ€”is trying her best to escape herself during one last summer away from a mother who needs more from her than she can give, and from a future that has been decided by everyone but her.

Sometimes the lost do the unimaginable, like the woman, the body, Mads collides with in the middle of the water on a traumatic morning that changes everything.

And sometimes the lost are the ones left behind, like the son of the woman in the water, Billy Youngwolf Floyd. Billy is struggling to find his way through each day in the shadow of grief. His one comfort is the map he carries in his pocket, out of his favorite book, From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.

When three lives (and one special, shared book) collide, strange things happen. Things like questions and coincidences and secretsβ€”lots of secrets. Things like falling in love. But can two lost people telling so many lies find their way through tragedy to each other…and to solid ground?

Our verdicts:

Mia: Well, that’s a bit of a disappointment. I didn’t really get anything right, except the idea of being lost in life and the water, but they were kinda obvious. I was thinking about Listen to the Moon by Michael Morpurgo when I wrote mine, and I thought it would be something a bit like that. To be honest, I much prefer my blurb. This cover is so pretty and cool, but the book doesn’t actually sound that good. However, I really enjoyed my first WIFSY, and can’t wait for next week!

Vibha : Well, my synopsis had virtually no similarities with the real synopsis. I’m kinda disappointed with the original blurb, it doesn’t really sound particularly exciting, but I guess that’s my opinion, and perhaps this book is just not my kinda genre. However, I really enjoyed writing my second WIFSY, and I’m really looking forward to doing another one next week.

Lynette: The cover included a girl reaching her hand into the water, so that is where I got my idea of the sea from. I got the idea of her brother getting lost from the fact that the title had the word ‘lost’ in it. But in the end, my one was pretty different from the actual thing. As for the book, I don’t think I will read it. Its not really the sort of book I would find very interesting. 

Hope you enjoyed that!

– L, M & V


4 thoughts on “WIFSY Thursday- 21st April 2016- Essential Maps For The Lost

  1. Sophie Bergeron says:

    Wow, it’s so cool that the three of you are participating!:O I absolutely love reading your syniposis!
    Mia: I feel like there aren’t many orphan stories being told in modern time and that’s why I find your synopsis so interesting!:D
    Vibha: Alright, you SO have to either tell me what you had in mind, or actually write your story, because I am SO INTRIGUED! You create amazng suspense in your blurb!
    Lynette: Ouhhh! So mysterious! I have this vision of being in the middle of the ocean, completely surrounded by water, and your synopsis brought me back there and I really enjoyed that!;)
    Thank you so much for participating and don’t forget yo enter the month’s giveaway! You can each enter seperately and put the same link to gain your 5 extra entries for having participated in WIFSY!:D

    Like

    • v_geekyfangirl says:

      Thanks! I’m so glad you liked my WIFSY! Like Mia said, we really enjoy doing it, and we’ll definitely take a look at the giveaway! I’m not too sure what I had in mind myself, for the blurb πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚…however I’m kinda imagining some sort of fantasy cross contemporary story. Emma knows something nobody else does but she also knows she’s the only person who can find it. She realises she could die in the process, so an element of the note is probably true. If I ever write this story, then I’d love to be evil and kill Emma off…πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

