Musing Monday (April 18)

Musing Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Books and a Beat. Click here to see what it is. Apologies for posting this one day late though.

I wish I could read Scarlet, from The Lunar Chronicles, but all the copies in the book shop I visited had run out. I had bought Cinder after being recommended to it by my friends. It was a great book and I wanted to read further through the series but unfortunately Scarlet had been sold out, so I’ll have to wait to see what happens. I guess I could either go to a different book shop or go on Amazon as well.

A plot device that I dislike which is used way too much: Diaries about school life. Diaries aren’t necessarily boring, and school life books aren’t necessarily boring, but all of these tend to be very similar. They’re all usually about a not too popular boy or girl who usually has a best friend, and they often tend to include a mean character which the main character dislikes, and the main character often has a crush they talk about a lot.

Most of those diaries are quite funny, and amusing, but they honestly don’t get anywhere at all. They’re not very deep, have much meaning to them, and as said before, they all tend to be very similar, just with slightly different random events thrown into each book. Books about school are interesting, and diary entries give a real sense of emotion, but I would personally find it a lot more interesting to read about high school life in a complete different way which may give a more meaningful story as well. 

Well anyway, that was my first Musing Monday! I hoped you guys reading this has enjoyed it, and if you have any thoughts or suggestions on how to make it better, please comment.

– L

One thought on “Musing Monday (April 18)

Leave a Reply

