Everything, Everything- Book Review

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  
Blurb + Goodreads Summary

Live life in a bubble? Or risk everything for love?

Maddy is allergic to the world. She hasn’t left her house in seventeen years.

Olly is the boy next door. He’s determined to find a way to reach her.

The blurb was pretty short so here’s the Goodreads summary.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


Review
Wow. This book was just, wow. You know how on the cover, other authors quote something about the book? Well, for this book, Jennifer Niven (who wrote All The Bright Places – great book) said: ‘Heart-wrenching…I devoured it in one sitting.’ 

I completely agree with her. I couldn’t put it down. Also can I just comment on how beautiful the cover is? It’s so colourful and vibrant, you just cannot tear your eyes away from it. There’s so much to see, it’s gorgeous.

“I’ve read many more books than you. It doesn’t matter how many you’ve read. I’ve read more. Believe me.”
Anyways, onto the actual review…When I began reading, I was slightly taken aback by the fact that there were illustrations and diagrams in the book. Generally, I’m not really a big fan of illustrations in fiction novels, I prefer a novel with just words throughout. However, for this book, it was different. The pictures made it all the more funny and engaging, so don’t be put off by the fact that there are drawings in the book!

“I am not lonely. I am alone. Those are different things.”
It’s told in the POV of Madeleine, who is an 18yo diagnosed with SCID, an extremely rare disease which means that, to put it simply, she’s allergic to the world. Therefore, she is locked up in her house, unable to leave it. Anyone who enters needs to go through intense decontamination that can last up to an hour. The only entertainment she has are books, the television and her nurse Carla. She’s unlikely to ever meet anyone, to ever fall in love – or even have any friends. That is, until she meets Olly, and her life turns upside down.

Yeah, I thought that bit was slightly clichéd, too. I get that she’s alone, but the whole ‘love at first sight’ thing didn’t really work, in my opinion. Well…it wasn’t really ‘love’ at first sight, more of a ‘Oh no! I don’t know how I feel!’ at first sight. I just think that maybe it should have been left until later, rather than the moment they first saw each other through a window. But maybe that’s just me…😀

“What are you talking about?”

“The humuhumunukunukuapuaa.” 

“What is a humu-whatever?”

“The state fish of Hawaii”

His smile broadens. “Of course it is.”
It was really funny, too. Especially during their emails and messages. The smallest, stupidest things they say to each other made you smile, just because they are so cute!

A problem I had with the book was that the plot was unnecessarily delayed. The real “plot” plot – if that makes any sense – only really happened in the later half of the book, and everything in the first half was just…the “other” bit. Yes, the “other” was just as important to read, and the build up to the plot, but maybe it could have been shortened.

A final thing I should mention – if you love plot twists, definitely read this book. Because woah, the plot twist in this was VERY unpredictable. It completely took me by surprise. It’s one of those books where all along you think that you know exactly what’s going to happen in the end. But no. Nicola Yoon completely twists everything until you’re left with your mouth hanging open, wondering how on earth everything (,everything -hahaha, yes, I did just do that) changed this way.

I’m still not quite sure why title is called “Everything, Everything” – but oh well! If you like John Green, or The Fault In Our Stars, then definitely read this book – do I need to explain why? It’s a teenage romance also revolving around a life threatening illness, that’s why! Also, if you enjoy contemporary romances, and are in need of a book that will make you laugh, cry, feel angry and annoyed, then this book is perfect for you!

I’ll give this book 4.5 stars – it’s close to a 5, because I really loved it, but there were some flaws in it, so it’s not quite a 5.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2

(There was no half star!)

– V

2 thoughts on “Everything, Everything- Book Review

Leave a Reply

